Answer: 

*** IT IS RECOMMENDED THAT REPORTS BE DELETED USING THE MILLENNIUM INTERFACE

  1. Deleting reports from View Criteria in the Millennium Reporter
  2. Deleting reports from Edit Criteria in the Millennium Reporter

will delete the reports appropriately with the exception of any saved work files.  

If reports need to be deleted from the SQL side, then cautiously follow the steps starting with THE IIS. 
It is also recommended that individual users routinely delete their own reports so that the SA need not perform Report maintenance.

 

MILLENNIUM REPORTER (Log in to Millennium as the User or SA): 
VIEW CRITERIA

  • deletes from report_descripts (in Millreports database) where report_type = ‘V’
  • deletes the HTML file and folder in the Reports directory on the IIS
 
 

EDIT CRITERIA

  • deletes from report_descripts (in Millreports database) where report_type = ‘’U’
  • deletes criteria tables in the Millreports database
 

SAVED WORKFILES

  • If a user saves an export file for use with Crystal reports, these workfiles will need to be deleted from the data database (Milldata/Millsample).  
 
 
  • You may find reports that are owned by a user in Run and Edit Criteria in the Millennium Reporter. 
    • Locate these reports either in ALL GROUPS or various other Report Groups such as Alumni Reports, Development Reports, or Prospect Reports, etc.
    • Locate reports for users that you would like to delete
 
If it becomes necessary to delete reports outside of the Millennium interface, cautiously proceed and scrutinize what is being deleted.  It may be more hazardous to clean up the pieces using the following steps:
 

 

THE IIS (Inetpub)

  • THE IIS Reports Directory (wwwroot/mill/reports)
  • Locate reports for users that you would like to delete:
  • Typically a report may look like this:  comparison~report~John
  • Do not delete default.htm that appears on the root of the REPORTS directory
 
 
  • THE IIS Formats Directory (wwwroot/mill/formats/xxx)
    • This is where the user stores custom reports for use by everyone.
    • Locate formats for users that you would like to delete:
    • Typically, you will need to know what the name of the format is you need to delete.
 
 
  • THE MILLDATA (or MILLSAMPLE) Database (Enterprise Manager)
    • Reports that are owned by dbo should be evaluated before being deleted!
    • If reports are run as SA, then they will be owned by dbo.  It is recommended that reports not be run as SA.
 
 
  • Among the Millennium Data Tables, you may find report WORKFILES that are not owned by dbo.
    • You may sort by owner by clicking on the OWNER header
    • Locate reports for users that you would like to delete:
    • Typically, a report may look like this: testpledge and be owned by other than dbo
  
 
  • THE MILLREPORTS Database (Enterprise Manager)
    • Reports that are owned by dbo should be evaluated before being deleted!  These could be reports that Millennium needs or reports that were run as SA.
    • Among the Tables in Millreports, you may find reports that are not owned by dbo.
      • You may sort by owner by clicking on the OWNER header
      • Locate reports for users that you would like to delete:
      • Typically, a report may look like this: summaries1000 and be owned by other than dbo
    • Next, find report_descripts among the Millreports tables.  Right click, open table, and return all rows.
      • Since you cannot sort on report_owner from here, write the following query to locate reports owned by a particular user:
Select * from report_descripts where report_owner = ‘usernamehere’
  • Once the reports are selected and you have verified the list, then write the following query:
Delete from report_descripts where report_owner = ‘usernamehere’
 
 
  • To delete saved totals or saved groups.
  • Open table report_criteria.  Right click on the table and select Open Table/Return All Rows.
  • The saved criteria and totals will display in this table with as many rows as there are rows of criteria in the saved total or saved group
  • Click in the far left margin to highlight the rows of the criteria or total you wish to delete.
  • Right click on the row and choose Delete. Delete all lines that have the same name, i.e. all lines of criteria associated with the saved criteria or total.
  
 
  • MILLENNIUM USER SECURITY (Log in as SA)
    • You may now delete the user from Millennium entirely since this user no longer owns reporting rows in the Millennium interface, the IIS, or the databases.

Required Tags:

Article Type: 
Product Info
Product Line: 
Millennium
Product Module/Feature: 
Reporting
Reports
Product Version: 
2014.0
2013.5
2013.4
2013.3
2013.2
2013.1
2013.0
Pre-2013
Ranking: 
0
No votes yet